Things I Want

I want to know you
(y’know, biblically)
I want to know what
side of the bed you sleep on
whether you squeeze the toothpaste out
from the bottom or the middle
how you take your tea
on a good day
on a bad day
on a day that is neither
I want to know if you
forget to close doors behind you
and what you’re like angry.
ashamed
abashed
amused.
100 days of domesticity
till I can smell myself on you
until I find those little hooks
in your skin you used
to reel me in
barbed like a cat’s tongue.

Leave a Reply

